The Liar And His Lover Review

*This blog post contains spoilers for the Korean Drama ‘The Liar and His Lover’*

It’s time for a Korean Drama review. I watched this drama in February so it’s been a while and since then, I have watched a lot more. So if my knowledge around it isn’t that exact it’s because it’s been over two months since I watched it.

The drama’s focus is on the music industry which is a change to the kind of the Dramas I normally love. Kang Hyun-gul (played by Lee Hyun-woo)was part of the boy band ‘Crude Play’ before dropping out to solely be their producer. On the other hand, Yoon So-rim (played by Joy) wants to make it big in the music industry, despite being a high school student. It’s a really lovely drama with lots of twist and turns and lots of love triangles.

The Main Characters

The Liar and His Lover: Episode 15 » Dramabeans Korean drama recapsKang Hyun-gul

The main male character. I really don’t know what I make of ‘K’. A part of me really liked him but the other half just felt like there wasn’t a lot to him The story of his relationship with Crude Play was good though and of course his relationship with Yoon So-rim was fun to watch.

Yoon So-rimCANCION DE Yoon So RIm --The Liar and His Lover - YouTube

Sometimes I don’t really like the main female leads in a drama but I did quite like Yoon So-rim. The fact that she stood by her friends when she could have gone solo was great. Also, I love her voice, let me just definitely put that out there.

Choi Jin-hyuk The Liar and His Lover Korean Drama Review | Kdrama Kisses

I really don’t remember much about this character except that he was the manager. I obviously didn’t feel like he was a character worth remembering (sorry!). I do remember him being very manipulative and sly and then redeeming himself at the end though.

Seo Chan-young The Liar and His Lover Korean Drama Review | Kdrama Kisses

Just making it clear here that I now about what the actor did so whenever I’m talking about this character, I’m JUST talking about the character. Okay, I really loved this character. I really loved his story and his development.

fictional mbti — The Liar and His Lover MBTIChae Yu-na

Like the manager, I really don’t remember much about Chae Yu-na. I guess she was considered a female rival. I’m sorry but I really don’t remember anything so this bit is quite empty. Oops.

 

Rustic Wedding Look For Men Pinterest Graphic

The Plot

I did like the overall plot storyline of Mush & Co trying to get big in the music industry. I think this was probably my favourite storyline out of all the music ones. Of course, I also liked the romantic love triangle storyline. That is normally my favourite part of a drama so of course, this comes as no surprise.

The Music

The standout part of the drama for me is the music. I absolutely love the soundtrack. I listen to the Mush & Co song ‘Shiny Boy’ a lot and I love to sing along to it. I also love the song ‘Butterfly’ that Yoon So-rim sings but unfortunately, that song isn’t on Spotify which is a shame.

Overall

I do really like this drama. It’s definitely not in my top five or ten of all time but it was still enjoyable. I will probably watch it again because it was such a lovely easy-going watch.

Did you enjoy this blog post? If you did, why not have a read of these similar posts:

Welcome Back! (1)

Leave a comment