Strong Woman Do Bong Soon Review

* This blog post contains spoilers for the Korean Drama ‘Strong Woman Do Bong Soon’*

It’s time for another Korean Drama review, this time for the show ‘Strong Woman Do Bong Soon’. I rewatched this drama recently and it still remains a favourite.

The show follows the story of Do Bong Soon (played by Park Bo-young) who has the ability of super strength. She becomes a bodyguard to Ahn Min-hyuk (played by Park Hyung-Sik) who is the CEO of a video game company. The show is a comedy so of course, there are some crazy antics but there’s also a dark kidnapping plot that I really like. If any of that interests you and you might want to watch it, I would definitely do some more research and maybe watch the first episode as there will be big spoilers ahead.

The Main Characters

Image result for do bong soonDo Bong Soon

For once, I think my favourite character is, in fact, the main character. I love how we see Do Bong follow her dream to make her own video game. I really like that she is a strong female but she’s still very feminine. She uses her power only when necessary and always to help people. She really is great and actually a fantastic role model for a lot of girls who watch this drama.

Image result for strong woman do bong soon ahn min hyukAhn Min-hyuk

The CEO of the gaming company. I think he’s a great character. I love his relationship with Do Bong-soon and although at times he loves her, he never treats her as a damsel in distress which is great. He likes to joke around but can be serious when he needs to be.

Image result for strong woman do bong soon in guk dooIn Guk-doo

A local police detective but also the childhood friend and crush of Do Bong-soon I think we have the second male lead problem here. I absolutely love the old friends to lovers trope so whenever there’s a hint of that happening, I want it to. Aside from the romantic plot, I also love seeing him on the detective side of the plot. He’s headstrong and in the end, helps to crack the case.

Image result for strong woman do bong soon do bong kiDo Bong-ki

Brother to Do Bong Soon. Although he’s not really one of the main characters he is still an important part of the drama. I would have loved to see him in more scenes and take on an even bigger part in the drama.

Image result for strong woman do bong soon na kyung shimNa Kyung-shim

Do Bong Soon’s best friend. Again, I would have loved to see her in more scenes. I feel like I wanted her to be built up more. She went through a lot of tough moments and I would have liked to see that have more of an effect on her. I felt it was kind of brushed under the carpet. She definitely would have been psychologically more effected than it appeared.

Image result for jo hee ji strong woman do bong soonJo Hee-Ji

Starts off as In Guk-doo’s girlfriend but in the end, becomes the girlfriend of Do Bong-ki. I felt like this character kind of appeared out of nowhere. She seemed like she had a lot to give to the drama but she didn’t really do anything. To me personally, she just acted as a character to progress the story rather than being a full 3D character.

Image result for strong woman do bong soon secretary gongSecretary Gong

I really liked his character. He was definitely more of a comedic relief character but I enjoyed it. He was a background character but I definitely felt like he stole the scenes he was in, especially the chicken fight scene.

Image result for strong woman do bong soon baek takBaek Soo-tak

Gang leader. I really liked the edition of the gang and the leader was just amazing! I loved all the scenes he was in and he provided a much needed comedic relief in between the darker scenes. His character was well thought and really went on a personal journey which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Image result for strong woman do bong soon kim jang hyunKim Jang-Hyun

Main villain. I think Kim Jang-Hyun could be one of my favourite villains that I’ve seen in a Korean Drama. Thinking about it, I think he’s my second favourite. He’s just so dark and I love how he is so full of himself and keeps coming back, even when they think he’s dead. We need more villains like this in Korean Dramas.

Welcome back! (2)

The Plot Itself

This is one of my favourite Korean Dramas and it’s down to the amazing plot. It has a great mixture of romance, thriller, mystery and comedy. It’s not too dark but it’s the amount of dark that I love but it’s not overwhelmingly dark. I love the comedic relief and the romance that just makes it a good mix.

The dark/mystery/detective plot is definitely my favourite but I love a mystery plot – if a drama has that kind of plot it’s always my favourite so it’s not a surprise to me in the slightest. Overall though, there wasn’t a plot  I didn’t enjoy – I think the monk one potentially is the one I liked the least but it was still very funny.

My Overall Thoughts

This was the second time that I watched this drama and it was just as good the second time around. Do Bong-soon really has become my favourite female character in all the dramas I’ve seen. I really do need to rewatch it again as it’s just amazing but I’ll need to rewatch some others first.

Did you enjoy this blog post? If you did, why not have a read of these similar posts:

Welcome Back! (1)

One thought on “Strong Woman Do Bong Soon Review

Leave a comment