Imagining A Day At Hogwarts

Like all Harry Potter fans, when I turned 11, there was a part of me that longed for my Hogwarts letter (I’m still waiting). Although I’ve now left school, I thought it would be fun to imagine what I’d be up to if I went to Hogwarts. In the book series, we don’t really get a clear view of what a ‘normal’ day at Hogwarts would be like but I’m going to try my best.

My House

As you probably all know, I am a Hufflepuff (*cough* the best house *cough*) and so I would start my day in the dorm room of the Hufflepuff common room. The common room is by the kitchens and it feels like such a cosy common room. On a ‘school day,’ I would, of course, be wearing my school uniform (complete with my yellow and black tie) but on a normal day, I would definitely be wearing some cosy, comfy clothes.

Classes

In the first two years of Hogwarts, you have to take compulsory classes but once you get to the third year, you get to pick your classes! I’ve done some thinking, and here are some classes I’d be interested in learning.

Herbology

You can’t get more Hufflepuff than wanting to study Herbology. The Herbology side of Hogwarts isn’t explored that much in the book series but I think it looks so cool. I love that all the plants are alive and have different magical properties. I think it would be so interesting to learn and care for all of them.

Charms

Of course, I want to learn all the magic spells! The best part about having magic is being able to use it. My favourite parts of the Harry Potter series are the bits where they use magic. Some of the charms, are a little strange and I’m not sure what context I would need to be able to use them but I think it would still be a really fun thing to learn regardless.

A Pinterest Graphic with the title of the blog posts against a picture of an old library

Care For Magical Creatures

I have always loved magical creatures (over the years, I have had a lot of books on fantasy creatures) but imagine being able to actually care for them. I would have to be a lot more brave though when it comes to things like feeding some of the creatures and if they are anything to do with fire but I’m sure they’ll all be super cute.

Potions

I wasn’t sure whether I would actually like to take the Potions class. I feel like out of all of these, this would be the one I would drop. I do think it would be fun to create potions but at the same time, for me, it doesn’t have the same pull as the other subjects.

Astronomy

I nearly forgot about Astronomy as I think it’s only mentioned once in the books and that’s it. I was always a bit upset that I never had the opportunity to learn astronomy when I was at school but I would definitely be up to learning it at Hogwarts.

For a while now, I’ve been trying to decide whether I’d want to take Defence Against the Dark Arts or not. I think if I had a spare space I’d put it down but that’s really it. I don’t really want to learn anything to do with that as there are a lot of other subjects I’d love to take instead.

Outside of lessons

The main thing I would be doing out of lessons would be homework. You’d probably find me in the library or in the common room working on something.ย Although I wouldn’t be a rule-breaker, I’d still want to explore the castle as much as possible. I’d be wanting to learn all about it and try and find all the secret passages. I think I’d also quite enjoy watching the Quidditch and cheering on Hufflepuff.

In the third year, you also get the chance to Hogsmede and I’d definitely go there. Hogsmede always looks so beautiful and picturesque so I imagine it would be an amazing place to visit.

Let me know what you’d be up to if you went to Hogwarts! Would we be sharing any classes?

Did you enjoy this blog post? If you did, why not have a read of these similar posts:

Welcome Back! (1)

 

 

7 thoughts on “Imagining A Day At Hogwarts

  1. We’d be sharing Charms and Portions!!! That was really classy post taking things to the next step, when most people keep “waiting” for their letter.๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜
    Xxx
    P.S. I was having my fingers crossed for Gryffindor or atleast Ravenclaw but got dumped in Slytherin. OOPS. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you! Ravenclaw is my second house that I sometimes fit into so I know it’s definitely a good house. This post has definitely caused me to reread Harry Potter so I definitely wouldn’t blame you if did too x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment